1 Comment

Finish a Manuscript; Discover An Attention Whore

 

Since I’ve been hiding out in the Editing Cave for a couple weeks – and it’s May (f#%k!!) – I thought it was a good time to share an update on what’s happening around here.

 

Breathe Out… Yes, That’s the Feeling of a Finished Manuscript

After plowing through for a solid month, then taking time to haggle with a couple bouts of acute insomnia, I managed to finish For the Clan. After two weeks of grueling edits (read: eyeball gouging, mind-turning-to-jelly, what-was-I-thinking changes), I finally turned the manuscript in. So the story of Roan, Jace, and Cayra is written. Still not sure how the fantasy elements snuck in. Dystopian and sci fi, yes; fantasy… what?

Either way, Roan and Jace are sweethearts. I really enjoyed telling their story.

Now it’s onwards to what else is hanging out on my desk.

 

Enter… {And No, It’s Not the Sandman}

So, funny story. I told myself for the last few months that after I finished FTC, I’d write the next book for The Republic series. I’ve been giving particular thought to alternating between the series and standalones.

For several weeks, I’ve been tossing around an idea for the next book. I don’t have a working title yet, though it looks like the main character is going to be asexual and he gets hooked up with a young lady who might just be genderqueer… but I haven’t settled completely on them yet. Things are a bit blurry at the moment. The conflicts are there, but they’re still missing an element or two. I know the MC’s problems; I know the girl has some serious issues of her own. It’s a matter of balancing some things I don’t want in the story with things I do want. I expected to work on it in the fall.

Sounds like a pretty straightforward plan, right? I should just sit with it and work out the rest of the details.

Ha. Good one.

A few nights ago, I poked my nose into A Question of Counsel, looking for an answer to something. That night, Mayr wouldn’t get out of my head.

The Attention Whore strikes again.

Mayr. Oh, Mayr. Originally, he was going to make a brief appearance in AQoC, say a couple lines, and then move on. During the first draft, however, I ran into some KIS moments (“Keep It Simple”). One of those “why have two characters do two separate things when the one will do?” moments. So Mayr won out.

Then he kept winning.

His part was never meant to be so large, but he just kept taking more and more of the scenes. And I let him. He’s sweet and fun, and. Aeley prefers his company, so he got to stay around.

It’s now apparent his work isn’t done. Before I finished FTC, ideas for Mayr’s story launched into my head. In the three days afterward, I successfully outlined his entire story, top to bottom. And despite every one of the other non-romance projects I have on the go, I’m considering writing the story now, not 6 months from now like I’d planned for the other story. And it’s really interesting, because I never went so far as to prescribe him relationships and interests in AQoC. They were irrelevant, since it was all about Aeley and Lira. All I had, really, was that he likes women and wouldn’t hook up with Aeley. But now he’s demanding his own story and a love of his own.

It’s nothing like what I would’ve expected.

 

Officially Announcing the WIP… Four

Mayr’s personal story comes out, and so does a part of him he didn’t realize existed, much like Aeley. He has a few secrets, several heartbreaks, and emotional needs that haven’t been met by anyone… until Tash.

Tash (real name Halataldris, or just Taldris) is a priest in the Temple of the Four, working his way up to the next level of his spiritual path. He’s about to undergo a series of four trials that test his physical, mental, emotional, and spiritual being. Before he undergoes the trials, he intends to enjoy life to the fullest. When he meets Mayr, they hit it off better than they anticipated. They both agree: they won’t fall in love.

This is the story of what happens when they do.

From the way the outline’s turned out, I’m pretty pumped to jump on this. It’s a pleasant surprise. Mayr’s still himself, but the serious side will come out strong, and so will the fact that he keeps getting into relationships that hurt him. Aeley and Lira will make appearances, particularly in one slightly absurd situation. And Tash… I’m starting to fall in love with him, too. He’s caring and sweet, but terribly conflicted. He doesn’t handle a broken heart very well, and his past hits both him and Mayr hard.

Let the games begin!

 

 

One comment on “Finish a Manuscript; Discover An Attention Whore

  1. […] taken with this book, check out my posts on the contract announcement, the aptly named “Finish a Manuscript; Discover An Attention Whore“, and my freak out from the […]

    Like

What's on your mind?

