1 Comment

Newly Signed: “Four”, #2 in The Republic Series! Mayr the Attention Whore, Excerpt & Poster

If you’ve read A Question of Counsel and Mayr wormed his way into your heart, this one’s for you: his story has been officially SIGNED, picked up by the always amazing Less Than Three Press. To celebrate, I made a promo poster and thought I’d share a taste of the story. 😉

 

FOUR Coming in 2016 poster

 

Yes, the not-so-little attention hog will be released onto the masses. And I’m absolutely thrilled. For being a character that was originally supposed to show up in AQoC for only dinner and a couple of lines, Mayr’s grown on me as much as his role has in the series. And I know from a few reviews that he’s caught the attention of readers, too. Anyone who asked for a sequel: here you go, and I hope it will exceed your expectations! He’s still charming and funny. He’s still brotherly and protective of Aeley. He’s still serious about his job. But now the rest of his story will come out and readers will see where his personality comes from. And then there are his secrets. He has a few of those.

I’m also really happy to share Tash with everyone. He’s experienced nasty things in his past and he’s done bad things given his role in the Shar-denn, but he really is trying to make amends. He’s sincere and utterly devoted, but has his own sense of humour and a touch of naughty spunk. His role in The Republic series is just beginning. Together with Mayr, he has a lot of work to do and a definite place in the over-arching story line.

Also from the looks of it, this won’t be the only story for Mayr and Tash. Apparently I have two novellas to write for them, set after Blood Borne and Mortal Coils. *face palm* And Mayr stays true to his attention thieving self. Literary gods, help me. If I do go ahead and write them, there will be a few surprises, one of which will stun them both to f##k. /enter evil laugh

But that’s for later. *tucks secret away*

For right now… Release date is TBA and will be for awhile. Same with the cover and the real blurb. But when I get them, I’ll be sharing them in my newsletter and here. In the meantime, I can share a little more about the story, including an excerpt taken from the manuscript BEFORE it goes through editing. Disclaimer: Stuff might change.

And for anyone who’s curious and interested in this particular detail: YES, both characters are bisexual and in an M/M relationship. Because bisexuals are cool. ^_^

 

About Four

On the outside, Mayr seems to have it all: a successful career as Head of the Guard for a prominent politician, family and friends who adore him, and the attention of beautiful women. He’s confident, treats life with a heaping dose of humour, and would sacrifice everything for those he loves.

Except appearances are a good way to bury secrets, including the fact that while Mayr is a romantic at heart, his lovers keep leaving. He doesn’t understand why; he just knows that he gives everything only to watch them walk away. When his latest girlfriend takes him back and suggests an intimate night with Tash, one of her lovers, Mayr reluctantly agrees.

That one night changes everything.

Once a gangster in a notorious criminal organization but now a devoted priest, Tash is considerate, caring, and strangely familiar. When they discover their mutual feelings, Mayr and Tash agree to a casual relationship with one rule: they can’t fall in love.

It’s a rule easily broken. And when Tash undertakes the Uldana Trials, love is the sacrifice they have to make. Pass or fail, the Trials will claim Tash’s life. If he succeeds, Tash must spend the rest of his life alone with the rest of the priesthood, never to love again. If he fails, Tash may just lose his life.

In a battle between duty and love, how can two tortured hearts win?

 

Excerpt:
“Hey.” Estara poked Mayr’s arm. “Sun getting to you or are you just smitten?”

Mayr blinked, refocusing on her. “What?”

“You’re staring a hole into your friend there. Shall I dunk your head in the water trough?”

“Try it and I’ll drown you.” Mayr shoved her back gently, just enough to tip her before she caught herself on one hand. “Actually, I should do that anyway. I’m sure you owe me for something.” He threw a handful of tangled, shriveled roots past her.

“Well that was mature.”

“You know me, always the model of eldernality.”

“I’m certain that’s not a word.”

“Is now. I managed to say it, didn’t I?”

Estara broke ground with her trowel. “Please, don’t ever teach my children.” She lowered her head, stray strands of black hair peeking out from under the rag. “So thanks, by the way. I’d say you’ve made Orlee and me some pretty coins. I don’t know what to spend it on first.”

“What are you going on about?” Mayr raised his gloved hands, his calloused skin still raw from earlier. “Wait, don’t. Every time you tell me something, I want to rip my ears off. And if it’s you and Orlee, I really don’t need to know. If I didn’t know better, I’d say you two were the twins with the way you carry on.”

“Hey, Loftin married her. I can’t help it if we get along.” Estara wiped her face with the back of her wrist. Except for the dirt smudged on her skin, she resembled their mother almost exactly. “You just won us a bet, is all. Loftin’s going to be so mad.” With a maniacal laugh, her face reddened more than it already was from the sun. “He bet against his wife. This’ll teach him.”

Mayr raised one brow. Her tone suggested trouble–at his expense. “Tara, what did you do?”

A sly smile curved her pink lips. “Nice bruise,” she cooed, pointing at Mayr’s left shoulder.

Just off of his collarbone, the bruise was still dark blue. It was a reminder of the night before last when Tash had sucked the skin hard. At the time, Mayr welcomed it, but the expression on Estara’s face made him self-conscious. “It’s nothing.”

“Next time, tell your friend to aim lower. If you don’t want us poking in your personal life, don’t make it so obvious. Or you could just call him what he actually is instead of just saying ‘a friend.'”

“I don’t know what you’re talking about.”

Estara snorted. “Right. I’m sure he wouldn’t, either.” She gestured to Tash with her chin and pulled her white tunic down over her thickset torso. “Because it sure isn’t me he’s been ogling, even if my breasts are bigger than your ego.”

On instinct, Mayr glanced at Tash and froze.

Tash’s gaze was fixed on him, his yearning expression suggesting his mind was not on storytelling or the children.

“Look, far be it from me to say anything,” Estara continued, “but let’s just call a lover a lover. And let’s just call Loftin an idiot because he wouldn’t listen to Orlee and I. We told him there was something between you two.”

“Tara,” Mayr warned, clenching his teeth. “I don’t want to get into it.”

“What? He’s nice. You’re you. It’s a good thing. I don’t see why you don’t just–”

“It’s new, all right? Just stay out of it. And don’t get attached. He might not be around long.”

Estara pouted. “Aw, come on. Don’t tell me you’re going to get rid of him. You need someone, you know? It’s silly, the rest of us having families when you don’t.” She poked his wrist with the end of her trowel. “And if it’s still about that bitch Betta, forget her. She’s never been worth a moment of thought.”

“Thanks for reminding me. I was actually having a good day.” To get away from her stare, Mayr whirled towards the pile of uprooted draysa and tore the leaves away before dropping the tubers into a flax sack. “And it isn’t about her. He’s just not intending to stay, that’s all.”

“Like the rest of them.” Estara sighed.

“Hey, at least he’s honest about it; upfront. And it’s fine. I wouldn’t mind not having to plan my life around someone else’s. I’d like trying to be my own person.”

Estara grunted, resembling their father. “I don’t believe you, but there’s not much I can say, is there? It’s your life.”

“Yes, it is, and if your cheerful disposition doesn’t stop crawling up my backside, I’ll just go and muck stalls for the rest of the day, and you can pull draysa. All. By. Your. Self.”

Peering over his shoulder, Mayr caught Estara sticking out her tongue at him. “I bet he likes your backside,” she muttered, almost low enough for him to miss it.

 

 

One comment on “Newly Signed: “Four”, #2 in The Republic Series! Mayr the Attention Whore, Excerpt & Poster

  1. […] more about the journey I’ve taken with this book, check out my posts on the contract announcement, the aptly named “Finish a Manuscript; Discover An Attention Whore“, and my freak out […]

    Like

What's on your mind?

